some musings from michigan

dear world // Kayla + Jules,

Baking is a really good way to feel productive on these summer-y suburban days. Here’s two recipes that I’ve enjoyed making: Barazek cookies (here) and melting moments (here). Also walking…I’m hopeful to walk more next year at Davidson, because it’s just nice to be outside and catch up with nature + people.

I’m leaving for Jordan in four days (!) I just want to get there and start *trying to* figure out life in Amman. Every bit of new information I take in makes me more excited.

This in between period has been a time of “housekeeping”–both literally & figuratively. I’ve been cleaning out my room b/c my parents will be moving within a year or so. I don’t really mind the cleaning because I find lots of artifacts from years past, which are often vastly entertaining (i.e. all the notes I wrote to my friends in middle school…yikes). My younger brother had a graduation party, so I also caught up with many people I haven’t seen in awhile. But after a few weeks, my space is clean, I’ve caught up on home, and I feel ready for what’s next (and a little scared. but that’s how I know the time has almost come to fly away!)

Here’s the end of a poem that has such a home-y feeling each time I read it. I imagine it’s even  better in Spanish…and by Pablo Neruda–fitting as Jules heads off to Chile.

From “Ode to Wine

I like on the table,
when we’re speaking,
the light of a bottle
of intelligent wine.
Drink it,
and remember in every
drop of gold,
in every topaz glass,
in every purple ladle,
that autumn labored
to fill the vessel with wine;
and in the ritual of his office,
let the simple man remember
to think of the soil and of his duty,
to propagate the canticle of the wine.

-Pablo Neruda

 

 

Leave a Reply

